OK, so as taxing as this class can be due to the challenge of sheer quantity I am actually really starting to enjoy this. I hope that I will be able to continue at this maddening pace of production. I think that I am going to change a few of my current forms so that I dont have to trim them. But I will have to work on that…we’ll see how it turns out.

I had to put my wheel up on cinder blocks today because my knee and back are really starting to bother me from the constant sitting at the wheel. But the change does feel good as these pains have been plaguing me for the last four days. Maybe the bike ride from my apartment to the studio doesn’t help….but its better than a thirty minute walk. ‘

I have been throwing bottles last night and partially today and find my self stuck in a loop of making them. I have already surpassed my quota for bottles and had to force my self to stop. I kept finding new places to take the form and was really enjoying the exploration of the form.

Looking at all of this work, not all of which mirrors my style, I am considering wood firing a great deal of it this summer after this class is over. I find many of the forms to be very traditional and cant really see them fitting into the soda kiln. We’ll see what I can make the time to do.

