So it’s been a crazy week for me. Money is tight and my room mate is moving out. I don’t get another pay check from teaching until October….so its SALE time people. I was planning on this anyhow but not it’s an absolute necessity. Yesterday I fired of the soda kiln and one of the smaller reduction kilns with a few refires. Firing during the summer in Texas is always a good time. I was talking with a old friend from Ft Worth last night who is now a fire fighter who was saying similar things about how awesome it feels to walk out of a burning building and then taking off your gear only to be greeted by 100 degree heat. So for now lets just compare spraying soda into the kiln like working net to a burning building….maybe that’s a little overkill…but hey its HOT!

I will be unloading the kilns on Monday morning then taking photographs and deciding what I need to hold onto for my MFA show in February.  I was hoping to be at Arrowmont about this time to take part in the Andy Brayman workshop but its not going to happen this year. Guess I‘ll have to figure some of his stuff out on my own.

On a better note my special problems course for the fall was approved. So in the fall I will be working on large slip cast items. I am going to be working on items with a minimum dimension of 20” in any one direction.  I am hoping to have attempted at least five molds for this class and completed/fired around 30 pieces from this class by the end of the semester. It’s a big challenge for myself but what is life without hard work.

Anyhow, I will leave you with a few images of the loaded soda kiln. Hopefully work that you will be seeing/buying at the sale this coming Thursday through Saturday from 9am-7pm at Oak Street Hall room #107.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


