So after both Jason and I fired the soda kiln with the new modifications we have realized that its time to go back and make some adjustments. During both of our firings neither of us could back off the reduction. We both opened the damper almost all the way and had the baffles all the way open. Both of us had the top cones fall first then we had to back off for several hours while the bottom reached temperature.
After much debate we have come to the conclusion that this is all stemming from where we corbeled the stack in smaller than 9 inches. We are speculating that this is choking off the kiln and reducing any draw that we would otherwise have. So tomorrow we are pulling the stack back down and rebuilding with a 9 inch interior diameter and maybe a little higher too.
Also with this last two batch’s of pots I have had a great deal of cracking. I am trying to figure this out. According to Hammer & Hammers potters dictionary I am either drying them to quickly and or my bisque is moving to fast. So This next batch I will be drying much much slower and if that doesn’t work then I will be abandoning the gas kilns for bisquing and returning to the electric kilns.
I would also like to share that I have been accepted in to Pottery Northwests ‘Unwedged’ and received honorable mention. So all of my Seattle friends please go check out the show in November. I also have work in 18 Hands Gallery as part of the ‘9 Bodies, 18 Hands’ in Houston during the second & third weeks of October.
I will be posting new work soon.

