I have been pretty busy in the studio lately. I am making work for NCECA, Art of the Pot, my CCC Resident show, and a lovely 8 setting dinner set commission. I haven’t had a lot of time to do much typing but wanted to let you all know what has been on my mind lately.

I have been spending a lot of time on pinterest (Click here to go to my pinterest boards) lately. This all stems out of a conversation that I had with my friend Jake Allee  last year about digital media and clay. He wrote an article which was then published in Ceramics Monthly talking about the use of QR Codes in a sticker on your work to link pieces in galleries back to your web page. I wanted to see what else I could do with this idea and did some exploration in my resident show last year. I used the pinterest web site to build idea boards for specific pieces in my show to help explain to the viewer either the development of a piece, the construction of a piece, or the influences which informed a piece.

Since my show I have continued using pinterest to collect ideas. This has become a secondary sketch book in ways for me. Using it during my show forced me to not only think about what I liked but why I liked it and how it was affecting my work. This critical reflection of what I was surrounding myself with began opening up new ideas and avenues in my work. Specifically I have been able collect many more patterning ideas which are coming into play on my work more and more.

